Hard Money Lender Do's and Don'ts

6 Replies

Hi everyone! I'm new to real estate and real estate investing.  I currently have one rental property, which I bought conventionally, but I would like to acquire more.  I am considering a hard money lender for my next purchase.  Any advice or suggestions?  Thanks.  

What hard lender is going to take a chance loaning to someone with near zero experience? Hard money loans are expensive and for a short period. So, you had better know what you are doing because a hard money lender will want whatever equity you have for your 'one' property and if you fail to fulfill your obligation to pay you will have zero properties.

@Khadijah Oliver - awesome that you already own a rental, that definitely gives you credibility in any lenders eyes. Hard money is usually in reference to short-term loans (12 months, interest only) and not ideal for a buy & hold. BUT, you can still find financing with a non-bank option. There are lenders that can offer you a 30 yr fixed rate based on the rental property's income and not your personal income. You'll be required to put 20% - 30% down.