"Per Diem" truck driver pay and qualifying for a mortgage.

10 Replies

Im an over the road truck driver, and my company offers a "per diem" pay package. In this pay plan, a significant amount of my pay is paid as non taxed income. In the images below, ive included the documents they provided that shows how it works. They say that they can provide a letter to a lender that explains that my income is really higher than what will be shown on my w-2. My question is will lenders actually accept this while applying for an FHA or a conventional mortage? Is this scheme that my employer pulling even legal? Also I just began truck driving 6 months ago. Prior to that i worked as a server at a restaurant. Is there a certain amount of time i will need to have worked as a truck driver (2 years?) to qualify for an fha or conventional mortgage?

Originally posted by @Michael Hallahan :

Im an over the road truck driver, and my company offers a "per diem" pay package. In this pay plan, a significant amount of my pay is paid as non taxed income. In the images below, ive included the documents they provided that shows how it works. They say that they can provide a letter to a lender that explains that my income is really higher than what will be shown on my w-2. My question is will lenders actually accept this while applying for an FHA or a conventional mortage? Is this scheme that my employer pulling even legal? Also I just began truck driving 6 months ago. Prior to that i worked as a server at a restaurant. Is there a certain amount of time i will need to have worked as a truck driver (2 years?) to qualify for an fha or conventional mortgage?