Notary signing agent - dealing with signing agencies

2 Replies

Hi all!

I recently became a notary public and am excited to begin a side hustle in real estate loan signings. I have signed up with a few signing agencies (snapdocs and NNA). When I received my first appointment and reviewed the documents I realized that although I could explain the documents to the borrowers, I was unsure which documents in the refinance package needed notarization/acknowledgement.

I know every signature does not need to be notarized but how do I determine which do? I’m assuming there’s not an easy answer to this...

Thanks in advance!

John

Hi John!! I became a notary in August to do loan signings as well. Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer and this isn't legal advice, and your state laws may be different. So really make sure you know your state's notary laws. The NNA should have a handbook somewhere online that you can review.

That said, I had the same question when I started. The docs that need notarized will have a section that's referred to as the notorial certificate.  It won't be labeled as such on the docs, but there will always be a spot for the venue (state and county where you performed the notarization), date, name(s) of signer(s) who appeared before you, and notorial wording (definitely check your state laws on this... I live in CA and they are very specific about what wording is used, AND there needs to be a disclaimer box). The notorial wording usually looks something like the following for an acknowledgement:

"On this __ day of __________, 20__,  (name of signer) personally appeared before (your name, Notary Public) and proved to be the person whose name appears on this document and acknowledged that he/she signed this is her own capacity"

Then lines for your signature, sometimes date, commission number, and always a space for your stamp.