HELOC vs Mortgage first time buyer

11 Replies

Hello everyone. I'm 4 years from being able to retire from the military and dont want to work in gov contracting the rest of my life. I used the VA loan for my first home in San Diego and have 200k in equity that I would like to use that to get my feet wet in a rental property.

Going forward, should I use a HELOC or traditional financing method for my first rental property? I want to be as prepared as possible so every angle pros and cons would be greatly appreciated.

@Phillip Moreno

Hey Phillip,

Full transparency I'm an Agent in SD who helps people use the VA loan to invest. Sounds like you got the head start so congrats!

With how rates are right now, I'd suggest looking into a cash out refinance. Lower your monthly on your VA property and pull out a decent amount of equity. You could potentially just move out of VA financing and reuse the VA loan for a multi family on top of the equity you pull out. But if you're working with a family I could see this not being as attractive as an option.

I like HELOCs and think they can serve you pretty well. I just prefer the refinancing route when it comes to the VA loan. I'm glad you're using it for investing and hope you enjoy the investing journey!

All the best,

Donald Appleberry

As a military member, if you occupy the house for 2 years out of 10 years, your capital gains can be excluded.  So you may have a tax benefit to holding longer, as long as this was your primary residence for any 2 out of 10 years. 

HELOC interest can be deductible if you use the money to buy income property. Or the IRRRL program to refinance that VA into a lower rate and pull cash out, might also make sense.

Here is my expensive guru course for military members...

When I got out, my goal was to buy 5 houses and use the debt snowball to pay them off rapidly.  I did 10 years and obviously didn't get a pension, so my thought was to make my own pension.