What’s in it for a lender to offer me an LTV loan?

18 Replies

Hi, newbie here. Still trying to wrap my head around the refinance part of the BRRRR process. What's in it for a lender to offer me an LTV loan? When are lenders more likely to offer LTV loans, market wise, and based on me the individual? And how and where do I go about finding one or negotiating one? Are these usually "pretty please" case by case basis situations or is this a product that many lenders usually offer? Thanks and sorry if this has been asked.

(For specifics: I’m northern Virginia located, hoping to start with investments in southeastern and southwestern Virginia. If you’ve also got market specific insights I’d also love to hear it.)

@Philip Tuazon

Any loan backed by collateral will have a LTV limit. These are typically not negotiable, and definitely non negotiable for someone just starting out.

Do you mean, what is in it for a lender to give you a loan that gives all your money back? They get paid for writing the loan, servicing the loan, selling the loan. The bigger the amount, the more money they get. The originators are also paid based on number of loans written so they become very happy and eager to work with high volume clients.

@Todd Rasmussen sorry I mean a loan that gives me say X% of the appraisal value versus X% of the price I paid for the property. My understanding so far from David Greene's book and the podcasts so far is that for a BRRRR to work you must somehow get the refi at appraisal value, assuming it's more than you paid to buy and rehab the property to quite literally get paid for the property and that this is how you have cash in hand for your next deal.

Just trying to figure out how, why, and when a lender would be willing to do this for somebody. Especially someone starting out. Why should they put extra money in my pocket above and beyond the total I paid for even if it is worth more due to the forced appreciation.

Originally posted by @Philip Tuazon :