Refinancing with a bank to pay back a short-term private lender?

13 Replies

I am just starting out exploring options for private lending for Brrrr deals. I seem to have maxed out what I can easily borrow from banks with my current 5 units. I have good income, credit and equity, but I simply have "too many doors" to qualify for financing. My question is, if I can't get a mortgage from a bank initially, how will I be able to refinance my Brrrr property and get a long-long term, low rate, bank mortgage when it comes time to pay back my short-term private lender? Won't the same limits apply with how many properties banks will finance?

You would need to find a way to get a mortgage otherwise, yeah, you'll get stuck with the short term, high interest debt. There should be banks out there that will refinance your property even you have "a lot of rentals." You're still under 10, so you're still eligible for the Fannie Mae loans. I would ask about them. After that, local, community banks are your best bet. Interest rates might be a bit higher and amortizations lower (20-25 years instead of 30) but there are banks open to doing that. You just have to look through a lot. Ask people at your local REIA who they use. That's a great way to find local banks open to SFR investment properteis.

Thank you, @Andrew Syrios . And say after 10 units or 50 units? It must get harder and harder to complete the "Refinance" step of a Brrrr? I am Canadian and I think it is harder in Canada as well. I wonder if there are any Canadians who have run into this hiccup with Brrr?

@Amy Zapshala