Don’t qualify for traditional loan but have 40k saved

8 Replies

I have saved 40k of money that I would like to invest to start in my real estate career. I am in an interesting spot where I don’t qualify for traditional loans and am asking for advise on what my options are for my future.

Here is a brief summary of where I am at:

I have a degree in Mechanical Engineering and specialize in working and operating shipping vessels where I worked for a couple years. I then took a year off work to learn more about real estate and get hands on experience with the construction side. I took my year off because I had an investor who I was working with and wanted to flip homes with me, but through COVID he backed out due to uncertainty. This year (Jan 2021) I currently moved and work on a ship in Bay Area, California.

I work on ships where I am able to live on them rent free. I worked hard and have bought everything cash and have not built enough credit lines to get a loan from the bank. (I have two lines of credit that they will except. Car insurance and a credit card payments)

@Scott Westlake

Here is the finish to my Post (didn’t mean to post it yet)

I am looking for advice on what my next step should be. I would love to fix and flip a house with all the skills I have built up but I don’t have the money myself for this. The Bay Area is quite an expensive market alone..... also is it worth investing around here with the market so high?

Any ideas on what a smart next move would be or a good resource to direct me towards my next move?