Current Mortgage Rates - Small Multi-Family

7 Replies

Hi All, I'm a newbie to the REI world and I'm interested in starting my investing journey in the small multi-family (2-4 units) universe. My question is around current mortgage rates. The mortgage broker that I've worked with on my primary residence provided me with the following for small multi-family investment properties.

30 yr Fixed mortgage: 4.75% w/0.75 points with 25% minimum down payment

I did not have a specific property identified, but I wanted to get a baseline mortgage rate to use when analyzing properties. a Few questions:

1) how much does the specific property (assuming they are all small multi-family in this case) impact mortgage rates? By this I mean the condition of the property, the location of the property, etc.?

2) Are the rates that I posted above what others are typically seeing in the marketplace for a credit score close to 800?

3) besides a traditional mortgage broker, what other sources do you recommend using to find lending? Do you recommend calling individual banks and credit unions in addition to using a mortgage broker? If so, how important is it that these institutions be local to the property in question? Which online lenders have people had good experiences with (i.e. Better.com) and what are the pluses and minuses of these lenders vs traditional lenders?

Any other advice regarding financing from more experienced investors would be very much appreciated as well. Thank you in advance for your help and advice.

Best,

Aaron Funk

Yes, 4%-5% is common. on the conventional side rates will continue to rise from here on out. They have changed their guidance on investment loans. No more free ride. You might as well go with a private mortgage company as the rates are the same if not better and you don't have them turning over every stone to make sure you fit a box like a bank does.