Refinancing a seller financed rental

9 Replies

Hey BP, 

I'm in the underwriting stage of what is now been a 4 month refi process. I'm using a private lender. I started the process by explaining to the lender that I'm seller financing a property in hopes of BRRRRing it into a 30 yr fixed. 

Long story short, the underwriter doesn't want to close because I have a recorded land contract instead of deed. I explained the deed is still in the current owners name until I pay off the seller financing and the land contract gives me legal ownership until that time. 

I explained this in detail when I began the application process. Now they're acting as if this something they've never seen before. 

This is my first time seller financing a deal but I was under the assumption this is a very common deal in the investment realm. 

Has anyone else had these issues and or overcame them? 

thx

"A FOUR MONTH REFI PROCESS", oh my heavens run from that lender, unless of course you were slow dripping in your paperwork.  A Land contract isn't ownership. Seller has to agree in writing to a "payoff" and if they have a mortgage(s) you also need escrow/attorney to have the bank payoff in hand at the proposed close date. Is seller not cooperating?

Go here and scroll down to "how to refinance:"  https://www.mortgageloan.com/r...

It's not hard and it's not a 4-month process.  Your lender doesn't know how to do it or he/she doesn't want to do it.  You will need to understand the financing process so you can either educate or current lender (seems like too big of hurdle to me) or find a new lender and discuss it in "financing speak."

Best.

Originally posted by @Caroline Gerardo :