Trying to get a HELOC

11 Replies

Hey BP members. I need some help trying to figure out how i'm going access my home equity while working for myself and starting up an LLC. A little back round on me, i purchased my first home back in 2012. I have a mortgage of 140k left and my home is tax assessed at 200k. The same year i also rolled over 50k of my pension into an IRA. In 2013 I purchased my first flip house for 18k and remodeled it while collecting unemployment. In december of 2013 I purchased my second flip home with my brother for 25k. In april 2014 my first flip home sold for 64k and now our second home is finished and on the market for 89k. Im going to apply for the HELOC but it doesn't sound promising without having "consistent income" the last 2 years. Im also a union electrician which leaves me the option to go back to work full time or do a 2 week short call. One of the requirements for the Heloc if i am employed is 2 paycheck stubs. Im wondering if they will look into my employment further than just those 2 pay stubs if i do do a 2 week short call. Any other ideas on how I could access a HELOC without having to go back to work full time, which would severely hold back my progress at building my own business and reaching the bigger goal which is of course becoming self sufficient. Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks fellow members!

hard money

It's called hard money because it's hard to find right? haha  I've looked into finding a hard money lender in my neck of the woods.  Found a couple but there numbers weren't adding for me to make it a smart financial move.

Hi Paul,

Great start on your real estate investing business and going full time investor!