Getting a loan with no or new job

10 Replies

Hi, BP. I will be getting out of the Marines in about 6 months, and I want to get into REI through flipping and reinvesting profits into SFRs. I have a BS degree and experience in electronics, so I can find a job if necessary, but I want to make REI my full time work. This obviously has implications when trying to get approved for a loan if I don't have a job or if I just started one.

What kind of creative methods have any of you used in a similar situation? Maybe a Co-signer? At this point I think the best course of action is to find a job for income while I get started and eventually quit when I can show success in fix and flip deals. What does BP think?

Account Closed Find an awesome partner <<<

Account Closed  says above the best way is to find an awesome partner if getting a job is not the direction you want to go. Finding an individual that may underwrite a private mortgage for you is another option as well. An awesome partner splits the profits but a private mortgage can just be a great interest rate.

Medium tetra homes update 50Bill Pohl, Tetra Homes, Inc. | [email protected] | 513.988.3700 | http://www.tetrahomes.com

Bill P. thanks for the tip! Jesse you'll be in my shoes soon enough, lol.  

It all depends on what you are most comfortable with and the method. Personally I don't like to be dependent on anyone other than myself or my husband. So I would get a job in the field I want to invest (there are tons of jobs in real estate). Learn to play with someone else's money and than use my own money to invest on the side.