New to idea of seller financing does this deal make sense?

7 Replies

Hi All,

I'm new to the idea of seller financing and was hoping to pick the brains of some pros on here. I have 2 rental properties currently but obtained them with a traditional mortgage. From what I've read eventually I will be caped at 4 mortgages. To continue I've read seller financing might be the route to go.

I've found a motivated seller looking offering seller finance, however the HOA will not allow for rentals. The only way I can see this makes sense is if I was to move into the home and rent my current home out. My mortgage currently on primary is about $1700 and I can refinance to bring that even lower. If rented I feel I can cash flow a couple hundred dollars possibly rent for up to $1900.

The seller of the new home is looking to get 10% down and asking for $2200 a month which covers taxes. 

Does this make any sense to do as a deal?

@Mike Barry  

Walk away from that deal. HOA fee plus no ability to rent just sounds lousy. Seller financing does not automatically make it a good deal.

Nothing about renting your primary sounds like a good deal.  $200 above your mortgage is just going to cost you lots of money over the years.  I'd sell this one for a profit (hopefully) and move into a 3 or 4 family that allows you to live as close to mortgage free as possible.

Don't worry about the 4 mortgages until you get there.  The real number is actually 10. From 5-10 you'll need 30% down.  

1. HOAs decrease flexibility of creative financing.

2. $200 a month Pos Cash Flow is not great.

3. 10% down is alot to buy, I buy on sub2, wrap and lease option assignment.

4. What is market rent for that property?  Why do you want it?  Just to avoid 4 max loans?

Think about finding owners with problems to solve, expired listings, landlords, fsbos, etc.

Then offer creative solutions like sub2, wrap, master lease, lease w option, etc.