Securing a hard money or private lender on auctioned properties

6 Replies

Hello All!

Is it difficult to secure a hard money or private lender to purchase properties that are being auctioned. I am new to purchasing auction properties. I assume you have to show proof of funds when purchasing..help please!!

@Babe Savage , welcome to BP! I'm honestly not certain how that would work, since the cash has to be effectively instantaneous at auctions. I don't think proof of funds would work, I believe you have to have the actual funds on hand, or at least immediately available. I could, however, be mistaken since I haven't done one of these. I imagine someone will chime in on the topic before long; I'm hoping to learn some about it myself now that you've brought it up :-P Take care and good luck!

This post has been removed.

Good question.  Each state is probably a little different wrt when payment is required, redemption etc.  Here in California at a trustee sale auction the full amount of the winning bid is due immediately in the form of cashier's checks. My partner buys with my money at the auction, fixes the property, sells and we split the profits, I'm passive, he's active.  At the auction he gives crier the checks and has them title in our entity, he gets a receipt.  A couple weeks later a trustee's deed shows up in the mail transferring title from foreclosing lender to our entity, we record the deed, it's now owned by our entity.  My partner fixes the place up, sells and we split the profits 50/50.