As a realtor can I pay my personal mortgage from my llc?

7 Replies

As a newer realtor I'm thinking about starting an llc or s-corp so I don't get burned as badly on self employment taxes. I am also getting ready to move and rent out my current house and purchase a new one. I'm trying to figure out what makes most sense tax wise.  

My question is if I have my commission checks paid to my llc, can I pay one or both of my mortgages directly from the llc? Essentially avoiding the self employment tax on this portion of income? Or does the house need to be owned by the llc? Am I not doing myself any favors by missing out on the tax exemption from the mortgage interest? 

Thanks in advance!

Always keep your business and personal income and expenses separate. Good luck.

Your primary residence mortgage payment is not a business expense, so no. An LLC has no effect on what expenses you can write off, the only savings is where you net say $100k, your LLC can pay you a salary of say $50k with associated self employment taxes, then the other $50k can be "profit" subject only to income tax, and not self employment taxes.

they are right, caitlyn. the house would have to be a business asset for you to pay the mortgage out of business expenses. you can use the funds to make the payment, but the payment would then be considered as owners drawing and subject to taxes

Talk to your CPA or tax advisor. I talked to mine and we found NO creative ways with corporations to pay less taxes, may be I am small enough :))) But I really would like to know if there are creative ways :))) The most fun way I found at this moment is to use Roth IRA for REI