Financing a deal with other Investors

7 Replies

Hi Folks, 

I'm new to Bigger Pockets and new to Real Estate investing. I wanted to see if anyone here has experience with financing a real estate deal and then earning a return after the property sells? If so, what has your experience been and what would you recomend for people doing this sort of investment for their first time? 

I am interested in this as well. I'm looking into doing this next year. I imagine if they pay you, you'll pay them interest only with a bonus at the refinance or sale.

@Rosston Smith 

What if you've never met the person? Financing a deal without knowing someone is difficult for me. How do others get past that? 

@James MacKinnon

"financing a real estate deal and then earning a return after the property sells"

Do you mean financing someone else's flip? This happens all the time.... Usually through a private lending platform as an intermediary, i.e. a company that takes your money and lends it to people who apply to them for financing. Some even allow you to pick the project. But as with all RE transactions and all loan transactions, you are taking a risk with the person and with the project. I guess it all comes down to how much you trust the lending platform to vet applicants adequately to minimize your risk.

@Patsy Waldron

Thank you for chiming in. This is for a flip project and I would be financing it myself. I'm new to real estate investing but I'm eager to get my feet wet. I also believe it'll will build momentum if I can get this deal and move on and make 20% ROI. I meet with them this weekend to take a look at the property and see if this is something I want to really be involved in. Is this something you've been involved in before? What steps have you taken? Did you get any documents signed and notarized?