Seller Financing Structure

12 Replies

I have an opportunity to purchase a property from another investor with seller financing. Im new to investing and this would be my first seller financed purchase. Im looking for some guidance and suggestions on the best way to structure this deal. The property is $80k and rents for $925. 

Try to get as long a term and as low an interest rate as possible, make sure the loan amortizes over time if it is long term otherwise you will have to refinance again anyway.

I've done 2 seller finance deals, so I'm no "expert," as others here may be.  But I will note that most seller finance deals will have some sort of balloon payment after X years.  It buys you time to search for better financing options and it gives the seller a piece of mind that he/she will get paid sooner than later.

Seller finance deals tend to have a larger % rate and depending on the seller, they may run credit checks and delve into your financials.  As a seller, they also tend to get a fairly good down payment.

The mechanics of it....I gave the terms to my attorney and he provided a promissory note that the buyer signed, with the property being added as security.

At closing, it's a normal close, with a HUD statement and the buyer signs the mortgage and promissory note. Seller is responsible for loan servicing and sometimes the seller will end up selling off the note to get paid sooner at a discount.

I hope this helps a little.