Cost to rebuild from the studs? New construction?

7 Replies

Does anybody have a ballpark idea of price per sqft for what it would cost to rehab a house that has to be taken down to the studs? Including demo, electrical, plumbing, walls, flooring, roof, etc. Basically just working with the existing foundation and what ever studs/framing can be salvaged on a house that has just sat vacant for however long. 

Similarly, what about new construction like adding more square footage onto an existing structure?

@Christina Traffanstedt   About $40/SF for me in Vermont, including the initial demo and hauling away of old materials.

Welcome to BP!

- Tom

@Tom S.  Thanks! I am very new to BP but it seems like the perfect place to be since I'm trying to get into investing, there is a mind-blowing amount of information on here 

$40 sounds low if you need plumbing, electrical and heating work. Depends on s.f. the smaller the house the higher the s.f.