Can I get Seller Financing when seller has a mortgage

6 Replies

Hey everyone, I’m a newb so don’t roast me to bad for a stupid question. I have an off market opportunity that I had the seller on the hook at 57,000 if he finances for 18 months with a balloon payment and zero interest. Come to find out he has a mortgage balance of 57,000. I offered to do a lease with option to purchase but he was against it because as he says there is nothing locking me into purchase other than my deposit. Any ideas would be much appreciated.

This may be considered a wrap around loan. I’ve never done it but I have heard it talked about. My main concern is when title transfers there is a chance the bank will call the old loan due. They have the right but may or may not do it. I would consider a lease option safer for your seller to be honest.

Originally posted by @Zackary C Dunn :
Hey everyone, I’m a newb so don’t roast me to bad for a stupid question. I have an off market opportunity that I had the seller on the hook at 57,000 if he finances for 18 months with a balloon payment and zero interest. Come to find out he has a mortgage balance of 57,000. I offered to do a lease with option to purchase but he was against it because as he says there is nothing locking me into purchase other than my deposit. Any ideas would be much appreciated.

You can do a lease option. Increase your deposit to entice the seller? Your terms are only attractive to you. I don't blame him for balking. I'm assuming you can't go out and get traditional financing? If you can't, what's going to happen in 18 months that can't happen today? You getting an inheritance and are gonna pay it off in full?