Has anyone used a riba free mortgage

10 Replies

I tried searching it on the forums and it pulled up zero results. Does anybody have any experience with riba free, or interest free, financing? It’s an Islamic form of banking.

I have no experience with this company. I googled it and that’s really interesting. Is this structured similarly as a 30 year “share buy back” type agreement?

@Dustin Ruff It ain't much of a mortgage if it's interest free. I have some experience in dealing with Islamic finance. Most of Islamic finance is neither Islamic nor finance (not saying all). 

In most cases, if you read the fine print, most of these loans have awful terms. Can't be very religious if it's exploitative on pricing. 

The implicit interest rate is multiples of a conventional loan. They are also, mostly, securitized and sold off like regular loans i.e. no difference in substance compared to a conventional residential loan. 

In other words, how can a lender claim to offer interest free loans if they are sourcing their funding from sources that are, primarily, interest-based?

That's akin to being against eating pork but being ok with pork by-products :) (for the religiously inclined)

@Omar Khan I googled this company and according to what I read it basically goes like this. They charge you a fee to use the house as they are co owners in the property with you. Each payment you give them is buying “shares” to get the house all your own eventually. Not sure if that’s amortized like a normal loan or what not. I imagine the fee is on going too.

So instead of paying interest you pay a “fee” which is probably more. Would that be tax deductible? Not sure it would be for a primary. Lol which makes it more expensive if that’s true

@Caleb Heimsoth They are structuring this as a partnership because Islamic law (like Judeo/Christian law) frowns up the concept of interest.