• College Park, MD
Votes |
Bridge Loan / 9 Unit Apartment complex / Creative Finance

Aaron Foster
  • Investor
  • College Park, MD
Posted Jun 20 2019, 09:03

Experience:

I have some experience with commercial loans on multi units; I have (2) houses on one (1) deed and another (3) houses on (1) deed. I own a few other SFH and TH rentals with a handful of flips , lien investments etc.

I'm trying to step my game up and purchase  my first apartment complex while  seeing how creative i can get with the financing. 

The Deal:

I'm doing the @David Greene thing and investing out of state (even if its only 90 min away). I'm hoping to close a 9 unit apt complex in a C+/B- area in West Virginia that was renovated in 17'-18'; The purchase price is. $350,000 at a 15-16% (projected) cap rate with room to expand the net a few ways (storage units, coin laundry, coin laundry detergent dispenser, delete the cable that is included in their rent *never heard of that one*, possibly a soda and candy machine in the laundry area since there is no convenience stores nearby etc); With all of these changes I'm hoping to push it to a 18-19% cap rate. Since it was renovated 17'/18' there was less cashflow for those two years while each unit was updated/renovated. The 1099 shows Net income of $23k with vacancies. Currently fully rented for $65k gross and $55k net (projected). Capital expenditures are minimal with the the recent reno and a property manager told me they'd be easy to rent and may be able to slightly increase them by a few bucks every month. 

Financials:

I have a good relationship with a local credit union that handles a few loans for me along with a LOC . They informed me they'd loan 80% with a 3/1, 5/1 or 7/1 arm with a balloon at 15 years on a 25 yr AM. schedule.  (rates between 6% and 6.75% with .5 point) My monthly expense would be around $2500 and cashflow about the same.