From support engineer to full time investor

6 Replies

I am fairly new

to real estate currently I am a support engineer that commutes an hour

daily to go to work. I am looking to go full time in real estate but am

not too sure how to get my foot in the door. Do you have any pointers or

advise you would give a new investor.

Hi @Tariq Hakeem ! I totally can relate with the hour plus commutes! I do recommend checking out Land and House Academy. Let me know if you need any help along the way!

Crank up the podcasts. Understand there are many different strategies. Some will be a better fit for you, your skills and background. And some strategies work better in a specific location or at a specific point in the economic cycle.

Start as soon as you can. Do you look to master everything. Keep the first deal or two rather simple. You will bump into things you were not expecting. Some mistakes will be minor and you just paper over. Some will be major and really test your commitment. That is life. There is no way to get started and avoid all the possible mistakes. Just focus on how you will recover.

@Tariq Hakeem

Capital, knowledge, experience. You need at least two of the three.

The fastest, most efficient way to your goal , assuming you have none of the three, at least not in adequate amounts, is to get a position with a REIT, real estate investment company, real estate developer, or commercial real estate broker. Same cam be achieved while working in an unrelated field, but the timeline is greater, and the amount of effort is multiplied.