Seller financing questions.

3 Replies

Hi everyone, 

I am looking into my first deal in Portland OR, and have found some potential seller financed deals. This is all pretty new to me so I have some questions. The deal I'm looking at is and below are some of my questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Purchase Price: $425,000
5 bed, 2 bath
4% interest only payments amortized over 30 years.
Balloon payment in 10 years.

- Are inspections recommended?
- How many days is a typical seller financed close?
- How do commission splits work if I am an agent and the home is under contract with another agent?
- Do I pay taxes to the seller or do I pay those on my own?
- Are the taxes separate from the monthly 4% payment?
- What tax breaks are available to me? 

Hello Megan!  Hiring an inspector is mandatory unless you are very experienced.  I would always avoid what the seller has to say.  Hire an experienced Inspector.  The closing date usually varies.  It depends on several reasons.  The sellers needs, your goals or plan, whether the buyer pays in all cash or is their deal dependent on their financing.  It could take two weeks or two months or more.  There might be nothing you could do with another Agent if he or she has a solid listing or if the buyer can let them go at any time  Each state has it's own realtor laws.  Your contract determines tax payment laws but each state could do that differently.  In Texas the tax due is paid by the seller and/or prorated to the buyer.  In other words if the closing happens on June 30, the seller is charged for 6 months and the buyers pays the other 6 months if December 31st is property tax fiscal year end.