All in One Loan: thoughts? opinions?

16 Replies

Has anyone used an all in one on their primary residence (or not used it and are willing to share why)? I know the interest rate is higher than a 30-year fixed but it might be advantageous to pay down interest.

Thoughts? Suggestions? I'm a newbie to real estate investing, so little words are very much appreciated :)

Big picture if it helps: I'm exploring an all in one so I can plop extra savings into it until I'm ready to purchase additional properties and then can pull the money from the all in one for a downpayment elsewhere and then will continue to throw money into the all in one from my main job as I save for additional downpayments.

If you use it as it is intended, yes it will out perform a lower fixed rate 30 year mortgage. The key to is that you must stop most or all your banking elsewhere and now start banking in the HELOC.

By banking, I mean all your deposits and banking activity needs to now be done through the HELOC. Where it really accelerates is if you typically don't spend all your monthly earnings and you have money left off after all monthly expenses and that money stays in the HELOC. You also benefit from the float, meaning that you get paid say $10,000.00 at the beginning of the month, but you don't pay all your bills right at the beginning, maybe some at the middle, others towards the end of the month. So you have that float period where more of your earnings are keeping your HELOC balance lower for a number of days during the month. This will produce a lower monthly payment due on the HELOC and lower interest, thereby paying of the HELOC faster, and opening up more available credit for you to tap for a project you have in mind?

I hope this helps?