What are our financing options?

7 Replies

Been listening to the RE podcasts and now my father and I would like to partner up and buy a small multifamily in PA for less than $100k. I am very able to renovate and do landlord type fixes. We are very new to investing. Where do we begin to figure out our best financing options?

Here is some info about us...

I am in my 30s and have a short history of income. I consider myself a jack of all trades. I have about $20k in savings. I'm carrying a small note on a rural 10 acres (only collect $200/month) and holding a 5 acre property in Oregon (probably worth about $20k). I have a low credit score of about 700.

My father owns his home worth about $250k and has great credit and good income.

Please go easy on me, I'm new to financing, but I gave done a couple land deals so I know a little about tax deed auctions, purchase agreements, title companies, recording deeds.

Thank you for any guidance!

@Slade Sizemore

I would not consider a 700 credit score low, average credit score is 710 (https://www.experian.com/blogs...). If you are moving into the property, I would suggest FHA financing as the best route because there is a low down payment. This financing is for 1-4 unit properties. Purchasing a $100k property will not require that much income either. The low down payment will allow you to have money for repairs and a reserve. Start with getting pre-approved.