• Flipper/Rehabber
  • Ardmore, pa
Votes |
Looking for a real estate focused CPA covering PA and NJ

Robbie McCarthy
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Ardmore, pa
Posted Feb 11 2024, 11:08

I'm a developer, landlord, flipper looking for a long-term CPA to work to grow the business by setting the optimal tax strategies in place. I have rentals in both states and am currently marketing a flip purchased in 2023 and need to determine the best way to handle the 2023 tax return plus the resulting finds from the sale of the flip.  Booker in place has full books for 2023/24. But we are missing expertise the maximise our current and future tax position. Thanks. Robbie

User Stats

Votes
Sammy Habbaz
  • Accountant
  • NY
Votes |
  • Accountant
  • NY
Replied Feb 11 2024, 11:52
Quote from @Robbie McCarthy:

I'm a developer, landlord, flipper looking for a long-term CPA to work to grow the business by setting the optimal tax strategies in place. I have rentals in both states and am currently marketing a flip purchased in 2023 and need to determine the best way to handle the 2023 tax return plus the resulting finds from the sale of the flip.  Booker in place has full books for 2023/24. But we are missing expertise the maximise our current and future tax position. Thanks. Robbie

Try reading some of the posts here from other accountants. See if someone sticks out as a potential partner. 

In terms of your tax situation, if economically feasible try renting for a year first. Could eliminate the self employment tax on the flip. 

Also try to time the sale and the purchase of a new property within the same year. This will allow you to use bonus depreciation to offset some of the gain. 

There's a lot that goes into this, mainly making sure the numbers work first, then worry about the taxes. Then talk to a CPA, if this works with your overall tax situation. 

User Stats

Votes
Jonathan Bock
Tax & Financial Services
#1 Personal Finance Contributor
  • Financial Advisor
  • Bryn Mawr, PA