Real Estate IRA vs. Solo 401k

54 Replies

So my wife and I are starting to look for a house to buy with our IRA, and then rent out, probably in Florida. This is something we have been considering for a couple years, and understand the procedure and rules.

But as of last night I started learning about doing the same thing from a Solo 401k, which we would fund from our IRA, which apparently we are eligible for since I have been self-employed with my own business for the last 20 years. So we also understand the ins and outs of running a business, along with the related responsibilities and tax laws. My wife is a diligent bookkeeper, and we have a sharp CPA doing our taxes and giving general advice.

I am learning about all the advantages of using a Solo 401k instead of an IRA, but what are the disadvantages? It appears that I don't need a custodian for this, but what professional services do I need, besides a CPA? Any other pitfalls to watch out for?

Is the money easily moved from the IRA to the Solo 401k?

We would be leveraging this with a non-recourse loan. Would this be done the same way as with an IRA? Do the lenders care one way or the other?

Thanks for any help.

David

@David B.

when you compare self directed IRA with truly self directed Solo 401k, there is no disadvantages. It is much better in many different aspects (been discussed many times), if you like to learn more just go and review some of my past posts.

Using Solo 401k would be much easier, because you don't have to go to the custodian each time you want to make the investment or pay expense. As trustee you can have a checkbook control - so the administration of your investments is quite simple.