LLCs?

35 Replies

I'm looking to start buying and holding for rent. I've heard that it's wise to hold houses under LLCs for tax and legal protection. How does it work? Do I need to start an LLC for each house? Where can I find out more information? Thanks!

Hi @Chi Cheung ,

I am also new at BP, and I just created an LLC, mainly for legal protection for this moment.

I found this discussion about the benefit of having an LLC in this forum, and I remembered reading something about creating individual LLC for each house somewhere on the web. I believe the article stated the benefit of having an LLC for each house is to separate each house to multiple entity. So, in case you are getting sued by tenant in house 1 for outrageous amount of money, the tenant cannot get your other houses.

However, after further research, I also realized that you can also minimize your risk by using a good contract and insurance.

Donny

@Chi Cheung

It is not necessarily to set up one LLC for each unit. But then again if all your units are million Dollar properties. I will definitely use separate LLC for each.

If your properties are all $30K each. I do not see why you can't put 4 or 5 in one LLC. It all depends on you own comfort level.

Also do not put too many properties in one LLC, your accountant will thank you at the year end.

For @Donny Widjaja , there is an option in Texas (and some other states) to create a 'Series LLC' (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Series_LLC) with one 'master' LLC and separate series/cells which can contain one property each, effectively indemnifying each property from the other. Before proceeding, make sure the lender you are working with will honor this structure. I hope this helps!

Kelly Marc Alston, Real Estate Agent in TX (#648082)
214-326-3425