IRA

28 Replies

I'm looking to use my IRA to invest in real estate. I'm looking for any advise from anyone who is doing this and which company are you using as the custodian. Thank you.

Hi Paula,

Who is your IRA with now? There are a hundred custodians out there and you have to do your research. I am using Accuplan and have so far been happy but it's been less than a year. Hopefully others will post their input as well.

Again, do your research on the different custodians you are considering and be patient. 

Best of luck!

Eric

Promotion
PPR Note Company
Note Investing
Diversify your portfolio and get completely passive cashflow.
All without tenants, repairs, or vacancies - in a real-estate-backed investment fund.
Here's how.

Hi Paula, I have spent 10 years working for custodians that will hold real estate as an asset in an IRA. I have educated many investors on the rules and regulations surrounding real estate investing in IRAs. I am currently an independent consultant and am happy to give you some information. Here are a couple of key points:

1. Real estate purchased by your IRA must be for investment purposes only, meaning you (or a direct relative) cannot use the property your IRA has purchased. Also, you cannot use IRA funds to purchase a property you currently own or a any direct relative may own (parents, spouse or your children and their spouses).

2.  There are a number of different ways to structure the investment depending on how much you have to invest.  I also suggest 'doing the math' first to determine initial cost of ownership and ongoing expenses related to the investment.

3. Any expense related to the property must be paid from IRA funds; also any income generated must go directly back to the IRA.

4.  Remember the Government created IRAs as an additional way to save for retirement therefore there are rules that deter the account owner from using those funds prior to retirement.