Transferring Property from my LLC to a S Corp?

12 Replies

My husband and I jointly own 3 buildings with residential financing in our personal names. We also own 15 buildings (50/50) in our LLC.

The problem we are running into is that our investment properties with residential financing are sitting at about a 50% LTV, and we can't do a cash out refi because fannie/freddie recognizes the LLC properties so we can't have more than 10 or do a cash out refi once we get 5.

If we had the LLC properties in a S Corp then fannie/freddie wouldn't count them. So we are considering moving them all over to one. I read up about S Corps and don't see that much of a difference. What am I missing?

HI Brie, You are missing almost nothing different. The reason LLCs were created (so I am told, I am no lawyer), is so you can have ownership and payouts at different percentages e.g. I manage a fund, I have a 51% ownership share but pay out 75% to the other investors. With a C or S corp profits must be distributed inline with ownership shares.

Hope this helps.

@Judah Hoover  - It does, thanks!  I read up on it and don't really see it being much of an issue for us personally, it is still a pass through taxation and we would need to do minutes.  But being locked out of our equity is much more of a headache 

Google s-corps & the advice against the transference of real property is overwhelming.

Why not hide them in the proverbial Illinois land trust?

Originally posted by @Pat L. :

Google s-corps & the advice against the transference of real property is overwhelming.

Why not hide them in the proverbial Illinois land trust?

I am not too familiar with land trusts... and these properties are in WI

Also tax implications when transferring from entity to personal during refinances .. Llc usually u are fine but with a scorp it can be considered a sale .find yourself a nice community bank or portfolio lender who will do business with u..u have a track record to show them