Multi-state LLC?

22 Replies

I live in Texas and have one rental property in KS. I'm looking to acquire another rental property in TX, and I'd like to establish an LLC to benefit from the liability protection. What do I need to know about a TX LLC operating in KS?

The first question is do you have any business partners. If no, I think what you need to know is that your LLC will offer you no more protection than a standard liability insurance policy. You are spending more on filing fees, attorneys fees, etc...than if you just buy some insurance.

Thanks, @Rob Beland . My wife is my only RE partner right now. I was under the impression if you have rental properties, you should form an LLC. I will look into insurance then if it offers the protection I need. I'm new at this, but I assume you're talking about more than a simple fire policy?

Correct @Richard Mahn . You should add a $1M liability policy to your fire dwelling policy. You wont benefit financially from having an LLC and the liability insurance is much more affordable than setting up and maintaining the LLC for liability protection.

Hey Rich, were in tx? Looking to move to San Antonio but little nervous any who. I'm no expert but been reading a lot. "The real book of Real Estate" by Robert Kiyosaki pg 108 "10 rules for RE Asset Protection" you might be able to find book at your local library. Basically it recommends to get an LLC, so you can sleep better but again I'm no expert just putting my 2 cents.

Originally posted by @Richard Mahn :

I live in Texas and have one rental property in KS. I'm looking to acquire another rental property in TX, and I'd like to establish an LLC to benefit from the liability protection. What do I need to know about a TX LLC operating in KS?