LLC : There are more cons than pros

13 Replies

I'm just a novice investor but the more I read about LLC the more disadvantage i found than the advantages it provides.

Cons:

cost more to setup, cost more each year to file taxes, can't take out conventional mortgages, interest rate will be higher if you cash out with a commercial loan, more paper work and book keeping. Harder and cost more to get an umbrella insurance. I also heard that certain clever lawyers could still go after your personal assets especially if you have a single member LLC and/or you manage the property yourself.

Pros:

Separate liability with your personal assets(but you can solve this problem with a high umbrella insurance ). 

I guess someone else can fill me in but that's what I know about LLC. Am i missing something?

Correct. However, one could argue away the personal asset connection if you set-up a separate entity to do the managing for you llcs that your llc contracts with....aka youpropertymanagementllc.

Also with the LLC. If you use small banks they don't show the loans on your personal credit. So that pesky debt to income don't get in the way as much.

I am in my first yr of investing so I am still learning.

Also the tax deductions are way better.

Originally posted by @Thomas Oliver :

Also with the LLC. If you use small banks they don't show the loans on your personal credit. So that pesky debt to income don't get in the way as much.

I am in my first yr of investing so I am still learning.

Also the tax deductions are way better.

Neither one of those is true.

When you apply for a loan you have to fill out a form listing your debts. Specifically they're looking for ones that aren't on your credit report. You MUST still disclose them, not doing so is fraud. There are specific criteria about your ownership % and involvement in an LLC before you do not need to list the debt on this disclosure.