• Investor
  • Santa Barbara, CA
Votes |
forming my first entity

Brian G.
  • Investor
  • Santa Barbara, CA
Posted Apr 7 2015, 13:00

Ive been doing RE investing for about 3 years now and I have 4 SFR in 2 states. I plan on buying more this year. It is my goal this year to start to operate more professionally so I can continue to scale my business. Up to now I have been keeping my books in excel and all my properties are in my name with conforming financing. This has worked well, but I have two goals. 1) make sure Im operating in a way that protects me from liability 2) be as hands-off as possible

I have parsed through threads here on BP, read asset protection books, and talked to my accountant and various lawyers. It seems there is still no clear path for me. In my mind a great outcome would be a situation where I have an entity/entities holding and managing the properties. The day-to-day operations would be handled by local property managers, and monthly books kept by an hourly book keeper. That way I can focus on sourcing and acquiring new deals (and my day job). I can do some annual formalities for the entities and my accountant can file taxes from the books kept by the book keeper.

Unfortunately I haven't been unable to find anyone in my personal network who has been able to advise me to my satisfaction. I was able to get a referral to a RE attorney in Kentucky but their help was limited as they typically work with local investors on larger commercial deals.