Tax on new build sale?

6 Replies

Hi all,

I just joined and hope I am posting in the correct forum.

I plan on buying a one acre lot near where I live to build a house on and then to sell it when it`s completed. My question is will I be taxed heavily on this? I`ve heard some say that I have to live in it for a year otherwise I`ll be taxed at a higher than normal rate.

My goal is to build and sell and repeat until I`m a squillionaire :)

I just moved here from Ireland and am a complete beginner to real estate and tax law here.

welcome @Al Brennan .

Property tax is based on the assessors value they place on the property. Mileage is the same for everyone whether owner-live in or investment and owner does not live in. 

If you live in the property then you get to homestead which reduces an amount from the assessed value, thereby, reducing your tax payment. They deduct any homestead amounts from the accessed value. Ie assessed is $100k and your homestead is $25k so your base for which taxes will be on is $75k.

I'm not sure how long and when you apply for homestead when that kicks in. You can call the appraisers office in the area you are looking at buying. They are a wealth of information.

Thank you Daria...much appreciated. Do you know how capital gains tax might be calculated? 

I assume you're talking about federal/state income tax, not property taxes.

A flip or a spec build will be taxed at your normal income tax rate, it's not a capital gains taxable sale. It will be treated as a business or earned income, not passive investment income. So you're likely looking at somewhere in the neighborhood of 30-45% tax rate (just a guess). Just holding for a year doesn't change that, it's still earned income. 

Now if you move in and live there for 2 years as your primary residence, you can use the section 121 home sale exclusion and take the gain tax free. It sounds like that may have been what you had been hearing about to reduce the tax burden.