Bankruptcy

7 Replies

Hi, my dad filed a chapter 7 bankruptcy in 2006. He was given I believe 7 years until he could establish his credit again. Since then, he has bought everything cash. Since we both want to invest in real estate, he wants to know if anyone in here has had a situation like this before or know of any tips or advice on how he can build his credit again the best and quickest way possible? We plan to invest in a single family home within the next 2 years or so. 

Thank you for any information in advance! 

Hey, I am not an expert, but here is my two cents.  First I think having something you make payments on and do a good job at it will help your credit.  Whether it is a car, a set of tools from Sears, credit cards you pay off in full each month , etc.Bankruptcy does not really ruin your credit for 7 years.  In fact you can only file every 6 or 7 years, I do not recall exactly.  often folks can get credit immediately after a bankruptcy because lenders know they cannot file again for many years.  I hope that helps a little, and again I do not know much about how to build credit.  You also need a good debt to income ratio.  Good luck.

I don't know much about bankruptcy but a credit card would definitely be a great place to start establishing credit. I would recommend Capital One, they accept pretty much anyone. They start you off with $300 limit but after you use it for a month or two you can get it bumped up. Hope that helps. Good luck and best wishes.  

Thank you Jerry and Igor for the advice. I will tell my dad your advices. For building credit for the first time (I  am 19), do you recommend me store credit cards like target, walmart, etc? Or another type of credit card?