Disqualified Persons in Solo 401k

10 Replies

I am a realtor, My mother has a high value 401k she is looking to roll into a solo 401k in order to purchase rental properties for her portfolio.  Am I prohibited from acting as the agent on these transactions?? I understand I cannot own any portion of the real estate, nor share in the profits, but I cannot find anything definitive on whether or not I can act the agent.

As a disqualified person, you cannot provide services to the plan.

@Ryan Walker ,

You should not act as the realtor for your mother's plan.  You can advise her with respect to using her plan, and she can take advantage of your expertise in the asset class.

You are, as a lineal descendant, a disqualified party to her plan.  As such, there can be no direct or indirect benefit - in either direction - between you and the plan.

You could not act as her plan's realtor and receive a commission.

You could not act as her plan's realtor for no commission, as that would constitute you providing a service of value to her plan.

Thanks for the replies. If I am unable to be compensated for transactions in a Solo 401k as a disqualified person are there any other ways for me to partner with my mother in an IRA or 401k? Perhaps a ROBS 401k in which I am an employee or Partner of the newly created Corporation? Any Other suggestions?

Originally posted by @Ryan Walker :

I am a realtor, My mother has a high value 401k she is looking to roll into a solo 401k in order to purchase rental properties for her portfolio.  Am I prohibited from acting as the agent on these transactions?? I understand I cannot own any portion of the real estate, nor share in the profits, but I cannot find anything definitive on whether or not I can act the agent.

Ryan, you are considered to be a 'Disqualified Person' and are prohibited from providing any services to your mom's retirement plan. 

@Ryan Walker