How to transfer title to LLC without triggering due-on-sale

5 Replies

So I know that I need to put my properties under my LLC instead of my personal name. And I hear that when you quitclaim the deed, the mortgage company rarely calls the due on sale clause as long as they are receiving their check. However, I would also have to change the insurance to reflect the LLC as the insured. Since I pay escrow money to the mortgage company and they pay the insurance. Wouldn't they find out the property is under an LLC since they are paying the insurance for an LLC instead of my personal name?

I know they could find out regardless by just looking at the public records, but this way would pretty much serve it on a platter for them wouldn't you think?

I'm not a lawyer and this is in no way legal advice. Take it as you will...

I had the same issue recently and my lender did not allow me to close in my LLC. In fact, they made me sign a letter saying the property will never go into an LLC through the duration of the loan.

I read through an entire discussion thread yesterday that someone on here started about an LLC being better than your own name. Specifically instances when an LLC protected you more than having a property in your own name. Read through 20 posts not a single person was able to give an example of when the LLC protected them MORE than having a property in their own name.

In addition, insurance is less expensive (in my experience) when not putting properties in your own name.

The decision is entirely yours, all i would advise is to be honest and upfront.

Again, this isn't legal advice. Take it as you will.

Correction on above post: insurance is less expensive when in your name vs LLC (In my experience)