Home Office Deduction

6 Replies

Hi all!

I had a pointed question related to the home office deduction. I am a real estate agent (licensed in May), an attorney with a full-time job separate from my real estate business, and an investor with several properties and am the property manager for those properties. 

I believe I would qualify for the home-office deduction since I perform most of my real estate business at my house (writing contracts, making appointments, pretty much everything except for showing properties). So in that sense, I am pretty confident I would qualify. However, I also have a full-time job (40 hours a week) as an attorney 20 minutes from my house that I am claiming as a home office deduction. Do you all see any problems here? I can seek out advice from a CPA, which I plan on doing so in February, but I want to know if this is something I should start preparing for the CPA and all the expenses related to it. I also conduct a lot of my property management for my properties administrative work at home for what it is worth. 

One separate question, if I do have it as a home office deduction, can I claim all miles from there to the properties I show, etc., and back as deductible miles?

THANKS!

-Matt

I will let a CPA correct me, but it's my understanding that you can deduct the home office.  I don't think your full time job would permit or appreciate you conducting outside business from their office, so it seems like a justification to me.  For the precise way you would need to structure this, you should talk to your tax person.  I also believe the miles you drive related to your real estate business are tax deductible.  I would keep track of everything and hand it over to your CPA and let them take what they can.  They won't be able to take the deductions if you don't track it or account for it.

You might find this podcast helpful:

https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/12/1..