when can i use 1031 exchange -need advice

22 Replies

hi - purchased my property in January 28th and just sold it and signed the contract on 10/21.  Just spoke to a 1031 exchange lawyer and he said that this is not a good scenario and I cant do a 1031 exchange, that i did not hold the property for long enough time and i would surely be audited by the irs if i did this.  Does anyone have any advice? how do you guys do it? the profit is around $100k so the tax hit would be huge. I am planing on purchasing another property right away.  Not sure what to do here. Any advice would be appreciated.  

Hi...

1. You must set up to do the 1031 exchange before the property sells, you can't do it after. 

2. It can not be your primary residence 

3. It does need to show intent to hold the property as an investment- this may look more like a flip and get it flagged. 

I'm not an expert on these though. @Bill Exeter  

hi @Natalie Kolodij - thank you for your response.  So i have not closed yet and i'm around 30 days away from closing.  The property i sold it was not a primary residence i just bought it to flip.  Are we not allowed to do a 1031 with flips?  I held the property for 9 months does that not count as holding as an investment?    thank you again on your imput

Correct- not allowed to use the 1031 for flips generally. 

Hopefully one of the experts chimes in here...I know there are some exceptions but it's only for investment property. i.e holding to appreciate in value. A flip is considered inventory and treated as a normal sale. 

I second Natalie (can't tag)

you can't do it on flips.

as for what to do with gain. I don't know.

we haven't crossed that bridge.
we 1031 exchange our primary home after it was a rental for 10 yrs. we lived for 5 yrs.

other units we live in flip. we took the exemption.

part of the reason I switched to buy/hold was the tax... and my flip was didn't make that much. it wasn't worth the trouble