Writing off a firearm?

21 Replies

This may be a wacky question, especially considering I couldn't find any search results pertaining to this, but can you write off the cost of a pistol as a business expense? I own almost a dozen rentals in the Tri cities area of Michigan, which is known to get a little dicey in certain parts. While I myself have not been in a situation which would warrant using a firearm and pray I do not, I have heard stories of landlords being assaulted while working or picking up rent. I've pretty much made up my mind that I am going to get a pistol and take some training courses; being the savvy guy that I am however I was thinking about how I could save some money. Any input? 

In my experience, NO. It is not a business expense.  Always check with your accountant.

I'm an NRA certified instructor in "Basic Pistol" (think "Handguns 101").  I recommend a LOT of training and you have to know that if the "defecation hits the ventilation" that you will 100% use that gun to stop the threat, even if that means taking a life.  IF you don't, the bad guy will end your life with your gun.  Know the laws of your state too and what it takes to get a concealed carry permit.  Also look into insurance and what to do should you have to use deadly force.

Pro tips: Go with a knowledgeable friend to the range and try out MANY guns before you buy one.  If the range also sells guns (most out here do) they may let you try several without additional fees if you buy a gun through them.  Nothing is worse than spending $400-$2,000 on a gun, plus another couple hundred on ammo, just to find out you don't like that gun!

Of course the biggest tip: Don't buy homes in unsafe areas!

@Alex Martin check with your tax pro. There have been court cases won where the taxpayer wrote off a firearm. You can also write off guard dogs and other whacky expenses.