How important is it to have an in-state CPA?

5 Replies

I'd be interested in hearing from both CPA's and Real Estate Investors on this topic.

I'm conducting a search for a personal CPA who specializes in REI. I live in California, and I invest in multiple states. What are the advantages and dis-advantages of using a CPA who is not in CA? How important is it to have someone with knowledge of my local state vs a generalist who may have a deep understanding of federal taxes?

Thanks!

James

Honestly for someone in California I would think it would be highly beneficial to have someone in state. California's state taxes are much different than most of the rest of the country in my experience. That's not to say that you can't find a good CPA that is elsewhere but it would be something that you should verify that they understand CA law if you find someone out of state.

If you pay taxes in CA as a CA resident, I think you'll find a CA CPA would be helpful. You may have liabilities in other states to file returns as well but generally, unless it's a state like New York or similar, the other states have less confusing tax codes (and significantly lower tax rates) than California. For instance, I've seen several people post on these forums saying that holding property in an LLC doesn't have any tax consequences because of a flow-through treatment of taxes. While that may generally be true, LLCs in CA DO have a tax requirement and minimum filing fees just for existing. You can probably get by having an out of state accountant, but don't be surprised if they're not as familiar with CA rules where you're filing a more substantial resident return versus a nonresident return elsewhere. Out of state folks are also less likely to be familiar with things like property taxes that are county/state specific. CA also has different dates/percentages for estimated taxes due than federal (CA has a LARGER percentage due EARLIER so possible underpayment penalties there) that out of state p