Newbie tax questions

10 Replies

Ok all you smart BP members, I have a couple of tax questions. I'm new to real estate investing, and haven't made my first purchase yet. I have been trying to get some things in order while looking for a property. 1) Since I have not made a purchase yet, and don't foresee making one before the end of the year, will any of my expenses (such as training workshops, travel & lodging, office supplies, etc.) be deductible on my taxes? Will the business even be considered a business until I make a purchase? I have opened a Sole Proprietor business bank account for the business. 2) When I opened the Sole Proprietor business bank account, I transferred several thousand dollars from my personal bank account into the business account to have money available if I found a good deal. Will this money be considered business income? Thanks in advance for your help. I realize these are newbie questions, but that's exactly what I am. Thanks again.

There is a special tax rule called “start up expenses”. It always you to deduct the costs you incur to get your rental business up and running. You can deduct up to $5k the first year you are in business and anything over has to be expense over 15 years. So, you should be able to deduct your education, travel, and office expenses. Now once you get a property and it’s advertised for rent, you can not use the start up rules exemption anymore. Keep track of every $ you spend before that. As for the money you transferred over, try not to commingle personal and business funds.

Keep in mind, tax rules may change first of the year.

I am not a CPA so definitely speak with one.

@Brandon Hall if you have tax questions, he is your man.

@Michael Bertsch Thank you for your input. I didn't think about any consequences of transferring the money before I did it. Hopefully there won't be an issue.