Ask me (a CPA) anything about taxes relating to real estate

503 Replies

Hey, guys!

I've been on BP for about 7 months now and I have quickly learned two things:

1. There is no better place than BP to talk real estate
  2. The wealth of information on BP is immeasurable

I've read and learned quite a lot while scrolling through this site, and figured I'd create an open forum to (hopefully) offer some help and advice back to the BP community.

I'm a CPA in New York with a passion for real estate and I'd be happy to answer any tax questions I can!

Nicholas Aiola, CPA in New York (#119518)

Hello @Nicholas Aiola ! Many thanks for being open to questions. I have a question regarding HELOC and PLOC debt pay back in Oklahoma.

We are looking at a subject property of interest and running the numbers. The funds are available via HELOC and PLOC. The question I have is how to pay the monthly balance of the Lines of Credit?

Can we use funds available out of our business operating account to pay on personal accounts (My first thoughts... No). If no, How do the lines of credit get paid on until Cash-Out Refi?

Thanks again!

Updated 4 months ago

Upon further research: One can use their business account (rental income) to pay back HELOC. The payment to HELOC will be a draw on the business account and will be taxed as such. I like how I am having a discussion with me, myself, and I.

Updated 4 months ago

I am finding that the Lines of Credit are paid off using rental income. So I ask, if rental income goes into business account, how do these funds payoff HELOC & PLOC to remain legal and maximize tax return?

Hi, @Nick White !

There are two aspects to your question as I understand it: cash flow and tax implications.