Flipping homes/Rentals in the same LLC?

7 Replies

Hello Everyone!

I am new to real estate investing, considering the fact that I have never actually completed a deal or actually got my, "feet wet." I know much information about rentals and setting up and LLC in regards to that specific area of real estate investing, but I have recently gained lots of interest in flipping homes. My question to everyone here on this forum is, can I flip properties and have rentals all within the same LLC?

Please know that I am aware of liability issues and different risks that I am taking by mixing the two areas of investing, but I literally just want to know if its legally possible to mix the two in the same business. If it is, do I need to make changes to an operating agreement that was originally set specifically on the area of rentals/leasing? 

You would lose significant tax benefits by doing so but yes technically you could.

With that being said I would suggest you keep your rental properties in one LLC and then you flip houses through another LLC that is elected to be taxed as an S-Corp. Rentals and flips are taxed very differently.

Hello Brian,

Thank you for your feedback! If you don't mind taking time to answer a follow up question I have, I would greatly appreciate it. 

If I already set up an LLC specifically for rentals/Leases, can I convert it into an LLC that is aimed towards flipping? Or would I have to create a new legal entity?

@Fabian Osorio  

These are two different businesses and they will generate two different types in income In terms of how it is taxes.  (Flips=active income subject to SE tax, Rentals = passive income non SE tax)

I would keep them separately for several reasons. 

I would discuss with your attorney the Implications of re-using an existing LLC.

I do not advise on flipping and keeping rentals in the same LLC. These activities should be kept separately.