How to report taxes on flip between tax years

5 Replies

Hi - I have a general question on taxes for flips. I purchased a house with a partner in 2017 that we rehabbed and will be selling in 2018. There were a decent amount of costs incurred in FY17, but I'm not sure if these costs are capitalized into the property and then offset the gain upon sale or expense as incurred. My partner met with a tax professional who said we shouldn't be expensing anything in FY17, but this seems strange to me for items like mileage and other operating costs. What do you think?

Also, does anybody know a good real estate tax professional who has the capacity to take on another client this late in the game? I know it's ironic that I am a CPA in public accounting...but I don't do taxes!

Thank you!

@Spencer Wetmore

I was in audit as well for my first few years in accounting (but I work in tax now), so I've felt the pain of everyone saying "oh, you're a CPA!? can you answer my tax questions!?", then having to explain to them I really can't! 

Hopefully this will clear things up:

You are correct with your understanding that you can't write off any costs related to inventory (the house) - whether that be the cost of the house, or items to improve the inventory (like lumber, paint, contractors, other flipping expenses).

However, if the cost does not relate to the purchase or improvement of inventory (the house), it can be written off as operating costs, as you noted. This would include your mileage, home office deductions (if you have one), advertising you may have done to find the house, etc.

I would make sure you get in contact with a Real Estate savvy CPA (plenty here on BP!), as your instincts to seek a second opinion were spot on.

Many CPAs serve countless industries and can result in them being too overwhelmed/busy to know the nuances of RE.

But congratulations on getting through your first flip! Hope this clears things up a bit.

@Alan Rohrer