1099 Reporting from Property Mgmt Company

6 Replies

If there are any BP Tax Professionals that can help I would really appreciate it - my accountant isn't sure on this one.   I've made a blunder in not comparing the 1099 from my Property Management (PM) company to the P&L.  After pouring over past returns, I've found that the 1099-Misc (Box 1, Rents Received) is populated with the net rents they pay-out to me after expenses.  Isn't this supposed to be gross rents (then I deduct all my expenses on my Schedule E)?  I've been researching to determine if I've missed expense deductions, but if my PM is already taking expenses out, does it matter if I go back and itemize?  Thanks!

Not intended to be tax advice but I will give my thoughts.  I am not a tax expert. Just giving thoughts

yes, the PM is supposed to indicate gross rents and you itemize the expenses, including his fee. 

What I would do (not recommending what you should do) would depend on if you also deducted those expenses. If you did not, I would leave the past returns alone since tax-wise there is no difference. If the IRS sends you a note asking about this, I would then correct all the forms. Since there will be no additional tax due, there should not be any penalties. 

However, if you also deducted the expenses so the expenses were, in effect, deducted twice, I would correct all past forms. 

In either case, do it properly going forward. Ask the PM to correct their form but even if he doesn't, you should report the actual rents received on schedule E line 3 

Not a tax expert and this isn’t advice but yes In my experience your 1099 should have gross rents on it.

@Lynne Smith

The 1099's provided by your property management company should be gross rents.
However, this should be something you can easily verify.