Decision: Real Estate Attorney or Realtor with Attorney as seller

5 Replies

Hi,

My realtor hasn't convinced me he's the best fit for my search for fixer uppers in Northern Virginia, and I recently found a property where the seller is a 60+ year old attorney of a moderately priced property that meets my criteria for primary residence.

In your opinion, what do I have to gain financially and experiencially from choosing to solely use a real estate attorney and the title companies and inspectors I've used in the past vs. using my realtor (i.e. facilitate the process and do paperwork)?

Thanks in advance!

Hi @Nicholas DeGaetani ,

It depends on your, goals, experience, and costs of these other professionals. Also, what type of attorney is the Seller? He might be a criminal defense lawyer, family attorney, tax attorney, etc. that doesn’t give him too much of an edge other than maybe knowing other attorneys. 

I’m a real estate agent in North Virginia and an investor. I also buy properties in MD, where I am not licensed, and sometimes I just go with my title company, sometimes I usedy my agent. 

As you can imagine, from having bought dozens of properties and participated in many transactions representing clients, I understand contracts and other legal formalities, so I don’t need to bother my attorney with these things. If you think you may need his/her help for drafting/reviewing a contract or other basic legal issues, you may be better off with an agent, since it will be probably cheaper for you (if the Seller is using an agent already) and he/she will be able to explain you everything you are signing. If you contacted the Seller directly, maybe skipping the agent may save you a few bucks, depending on your knowledge and how many hours of attorney work you need. 

Other than that, using an agent basically saves you time and headaches, which both are money, as well as adding another set of eyes looking for your best interest.