Roth IRA ???????????????

13 Replies

Newbie here,I’ve done some research on the Roth IRA,I’m still kind of lost as to where to get started. I have about 5k to invest ,not sure if I want a self directed Ira or Robo advisor. I would really appreciate some recommendations.

@Michael O.  

You can open an IRA at most banks an/or online. It is simply an account that you can buy and sell stock/bonds, ETFs and the like while not paying taxes until you retire.

At this point in your life a vanilla IRA is all you need, since most Self Direct IRAs have fees to administer them, which will eat up your $5k.

Save up your money for a few years and then look into Self Directed accounts down the line.

Michael,

With such small amount doing self directed IRA would be hard to justify. Investing in real estate, private lending or event some funds would require larger amount of money. Just open Vanguard IRA and invest in one of their index funds until you have substantial amount enough to do alternative investment- then you can reconsider self directed IRA.

@Michael O.   That is a personal decision that depends on what you plan to invest in and how much risk you are willing to take with the funds (really how much you will rely on this money in your retirement)... 

For me, SDIRAs make sense if you want to invest in syndication, notes (performing and/or non performing), are making private loans, ect. To play in those space you need $300k-500k; at least in my opinion. 

Others may have different ideas, but I haven't heard any convincing arguments for having a SDIRA with less than $100k.

Originally posted by @Michael O. :

Thanks a lot for reply,I very much appreciate it. What amount would be worth opening a SdIRA ?

Maybe $25k. Technically, even $5k can be used to start doing real estate. For example, buy options. But it is a more advanced strategy, and I would not recommend it to someone new.