Structuring partnership exith with cash buyout

3 Replies

Seeking guidance on how best to exit a partnership mid-flip and the tax implications I should prepare for.

Detail and timeline

• I bought a duplex in January for cash - standard closing with the buyer
  • In May I let a partner buy into the deal with cash and had his name added to the deed
    • there was no recorded transfer of $$ at this closing
  • My partner is now offering additional cash to buy me out of the partnership and take over 100% of the deal

Hoping to better understand at a high level what the typical path forward would look like in this scenario ?

I'm not an expert on the tax part, but it sounds like this would be short term gains if he buys you out. I believe, if you want to be bought out, you can just record the sale like any other. Probably you need an attorney to make sure everything is square.

Originally posted by @David Roberts :

Seeking guidance on how best to exit a partnership mid-flip and the tax implications I should prepare for.

Detail and timeline

• I bought a duplex in January for cash - standard closing with the buyer
  • In May I let a partner buy into the deal with cash and had his name added to the deed
    • there was no recorded transfer of $$ at this closing
  • My partner is now offering additional cash to buy me out of the partnership and take over 100% of the deal

Hoping to better understand at a high level what the typical path forward would look like in this scenario ?

For tax purposes, a partnership interest is treated as an asset separate and apart from the partner's indirect interest in the partnership's assets. 

For a high level, 

when you sold your partnership interest, you generally determine the taxable gain or loss, its character (ordinary or capital), and holding period (long-term or short-term) by reference to the partnership interest—not by reference to the underlying partnership assets.

Get a professional, please. 

@David Roberts