Looking for a CPA...

45 Replies

Hi, I’m currently living in Orange County, CA and would like to work with a real estate CPA to do my taxes and optimize/evaluate my tax returns from previous year. I’ve always done taxes by myself using TurboTax in the past, but I think it’s time I hand this process over to a CPA to get the most out of my tax return. I have 2 rentals: one in CA and one of state in an LLC. I have full time job with W2. I would like to work with a CPA for the long run, but I’m having difficulty finding one. I asked about Keystone CPA, but their fees are way too expense for me at the moment sInce I’m just starting out as a real estate Investor. I don’t mind working with a CPA via online, but I prefer to have a face-to-face. Any recommendations? Thank you in advance for all your help!

@David T.

You can ask @Logan Allec who is in LA. He might not take new clients, but he can refer you.

That said, face-to-face is not that important when we can video conference. If you decide to consider remote relationships, choose from the many tax experts on this forum.

@David T.

I have names for you in San Diego if you're willing to work remotely.  You can also reach out to @Logan Allec as was already suggested since he is in L.A.  You'll definitely want to work with someone who is either CA-based or is familiar with CA laws if they live elsewhere.  Not sure what you consider to be fees that are too expensive, but paying for good advice is well worth it.  Working with someone who knows what he/she is doing could end up saving you money in the long run, possibly even paying for their fees with your savings.

I am thinking about going the other way, from a CPA firm who claims to specialize in real estate to TurboTax or the like. I spent $3800 on my LLC tax return this year and $1200 on my personal. This years LLC tax return is more than double last years and I was told that is because I own more properties (14 now).