Skip to content
Tax, SDIRAs & Cost Segregation

User Stats

Votes

Investing in Tennessee as a foreigner

Posted Oct 4 2018, 14:13

Hi,

It has been hard to find info regarding my situation, perhaps because it is a bit unique, and could use some help. My situation is as follows:

I am a foreign investor interested on purchasing a rental property in Cordova, Tennessee. I am a resident in Denmark, so my personal tax rates are astronomic. I have the option to invest with my parents, who live in a country with a much lower tax rate. The goal is to set up an investment structure that optimizes the level of taxation given the aforementioned context. This implies finding a structure exempt from TN's excise/franchise taxes, rendering inheritance taxes inapplicable when my parents pass away, and if possible, that my parents obtain the income from the rental property so that they end up paying taxes instead of me. It is hard to find info on the internet and to receive advice considering that what could apply to US citizens maybe does not apply in the same way  to foreign investors. I have thought of some options, but fail to see which is the best:

1) I invest as the sole proprietor. As I understand, sole proprietors pay no franchise/excise taxes to TN (does this apply to foreigners?) I end up paying income taxes in Denmark from the rental income, which would ascend to 46% (I still can deduct what I pay in the US thanks to the double taxation agreement). But I spare any inheritance taxes. An umbrella policy would be purchased.